⚡ Find the Best Battery, Solar Kit, E-Bike or Generator  ·  Capacity, output and cost per watt-hour, side by side

HomeElectric Bikes › Start Here

Start Here: Choosing an Electric Bike

Range is the least reliable number in the industry. Work out your watt-hours first, then shop to that figure.

Start here: watt-hours, not miles

Every e-bike is sold on range, and range is the least reliable number in the industry. It is measured on the lowest assist level, on flat ground, by a light rider, with no wind. Nobody rides like that.

The honest number is the battery, in watt-hours. Take the voltage and multiply it by the amp-hours: a 48V 15Ah pack is 720Wh. That figure is fixed, comparable across brands, and it is what you are actually buying.

As a working rule, a rider on moderate assist uses somewhere between 10 and 20 watt-hours per mile. Hills, headwinds, heavy loads and higher assist push you to the top of that band, and beyond it.

How you rideRough useBattery to look for
Flat commute, moderate assist10–12Wh/mi400–500Wh
Mixed terrain, some hills13–16Wh/mi600–750Wh
Hills, cargo or a heavier rider18–25Wh/mi750Wh+
Full throttle, Class 3 speeds20–30Wh/mi900Wh+ or a spare

Do the sum before you shop. Your real commute, doubled for the return leg, times 15Wh. A 12-mile round trip needs about 360Wh of usable capacity — and you never want to run a pack flat, so add a third on top.

The bikes worth starting with

Five bikes covering the categories that matter, with the specifications each manufacturer states outright. Where a brand does not publish a figure plainly, we have left it out rather than guess.

Lectric XPress2 Commuter

Lectric XPress2 Commuter

The value pick, and the one most people should look at first. A 672Wh pack is generous at this price, and Lectric ships more bikes in the US than anyone.

672Whbattery750WmotorClass 3top speed
Rad Power RadRunner™ Plus Cargo Utility Bike

Rad Power RadRunner Plus

A utility bike that will carry a passenger or a week of shopping. Class 2, so it tops out at 20mph — this is a hauler, not a fast commuter.

13Ah48V battery750Wrear hub, 70Nm55 miclaimed range
Rad Power Radster™ Trail Off-Road Bike

Rad Power Radster Trail

The most torque here at 100Nm, which is what you actually feel on a hill. Class 3 and UL certified to both 2849 and 2271 — worth checking on any bike you buy.

15Ah48V battery750Wgeared hub, 100Nm65 miclaimed range
Aventon Level 4 REC

Aventon Level 4 REC

The commuter benchmark. Suspension fork, lights and racks as standard, and the best app of the group. Aventon does not state the pack size plainly, which is a mark against it.

750Whub motor75 miclaimed rangeClass 3top speed
Velotric Discover 3

Velotric Discover 3

Built for comfort over outright speed, with an upright position and a long claimed range. The priciest of the commuters here without clearly out-specifying them.

750Whub motor80 miclaimed rangeClass 3top speed

How the brands differ

Lectric

The volume player, and the value benchmark. You get more battery per dollar than anywhere else, at the cost of heavier frames and less refined finishing. Start here unless you have a reason not to.

Rad Power

The most transparent brand of the group. Rad publishes range, payload, torque, battery capacity and UL certification on every product page, which is rarer than it should be. Their utility and cargo bikes are the strongest part of the range.

Aventon

The best commuters and by some distance the best app and connectivity. Specifications are harder to pin down than they should be — the pack size is not stated plainly on the product page.

Velotric

Comfort-led geometry and strong claimed range, priced at the top of this group. Good bikes, but you are paying for ride quality rather than raw numbers.

Check the certification. Look for UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) and UL 2271 (the battery). Several US cities now require it for indoor charging or storage, and insurers are starting to ask. Rad states both; not every brand does.

Common questions

How long does an e-bike battery last?

Most packs are rated for 500 to 800 full charge cycles before they fall to about 80% of original capacity, which for a typical rider is three to five years. Partial charges are gentler than full ones. See electric bike batteries explained.

Do I need a licence or insurance?

In most US states, no, provided the bike fits one of the three classes and stays under 750W. Class 3 is the one with extra rules — some states set a minimum age or require a helmet. Check your own state before buying.

Can I charge one away from the mains?

Yes, and this is where the two halves of this site meet. A 600–700Wh e-bike pack needs a power station of at least 700Wh to manage a full charge with headroom. See charging an e-bike from a power station.

Is a mid-drive motor worth the money?

On hills, yes. A mid-drive puts power through the gears, so it multiplies torque when you drop to a low gear. A hub motor cannot do that and has to brute-force the climb, drawing more current and covering fewer miles per watt-hour.

Scroll to Top